Who Owns Your Media

Indian media and journalists, who are entrusted with the responsibility of being a flag bearer of fourth pillar of democracy are themselves part of a system which favors corporate-politico nexus.

  • Network18 – Mukesh Ambani through Independent Media Trust, of which RIL is the sole beneficiary by funding of up to Rs. 40 billion for acquisition of control in Network18 and its subsidiaries.
  • Zee Media Corporation Limited – Subhash Chandra, Promoter Essel Group, An aspirant for the BJP ticket from Hisar, in 2014 Haryana Assembly Election, supported BJP candidate Dr. Kamal Gupta against Savitri Jindal, who is the mother of former Congress MP and industrialist Naveen Jindal.
  • NDTV – Radhika Roy and Prannoy Roy holds around 29.18% stake and 14.17% is owned by Abhey Oswal through Oswal Greentech Limited who is father-in-law of Congress Ex-MP and industrialist Naveen Jindal. Radhika Roy is sister of Rajya Sabha MP Brinda Karat who is wife of CPI(M) General Secretary, Prakash Karat.
  • SUN Group – Kalanithi Maran holds 77% share of Kal Media Services Pvt. Ltd. Who is the grand nephew of DMK president Karunanidhi.
  • News 24 – Anuradha Prasad managing director of BAG films and wife of Congress Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Shukla. She is the sister of BJP MP Ravi Shankar Prasad who is present Union Minister of Communications and Information Technology.
  • IBN Lokmat – Marathi news channel owned by Vijay Darda (Congress Rajya Sabha MP) and Rajendra Darda (Congress Ex-MLA in Maharashtra).
  • India TV – Rajat Sharma, a former ABVP General Secretary.
  • India News – India News is owned by Karthikeya Sharma, who owns the ITV Media group that operates many news channels including News X. Karthikeya Sharma and Manu Sharma (Convicted in Jessica Lal murder case) are sons of Congress leader Venod Sharma.
  • Sahara India Parivar – Subarta Roy owns a fleet of national and regional news channel who is famous for hosting grand parties in his Sahara City, Lucknow for the entire union or state cabinet, whether it is Atal Bihari Vajpayee government or, socialist Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi party.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!