• e-Governance, is the integration of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) in all the processes to enhance government ability to address the needs of the general public.
  • The National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) is an initiative of the Government of India to make all government services available to the citizens of India via electronic media. NeGP was formulated by the Department of Electronics and Information Technology and Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances. http://negd.gov.in/
  • NeGP consists of 27 Mission Mode Projects and 8 components. A massive countrywide infrastructure even to the remotest of villages is evolving, and large-scale digitization of records is taking place to enable easy, reliable access over the internet.
  • UMANG mobile app has been launched by NeGP to access State and Central Government services online through web and mobile app.

Digital Signature Certificates

  • Certificates serve as proof of identity of an individual for a certain purpose; for example, a driver\’s license identifies someone who can legally drive in a particular country.
  • A digital certificate can be presented electronically to prove one’s identity, to access information or services on the Internet or to sign certain documents digitally.
  • Digital signature certificates are the digital equivalent of paper certificates (drivers\’ licenses, passports).
  • There are a few licensed Certifying Authority (CA) in India who has been granted a license to issue a digital signature certificate under Section 24 of the Indian IT-Act 2000 with a validity of one or two years. For example; National Informatics Center (NIC), Tata Consultancy Services, E-MUDHRA, CDAC, NSDL etc. For more details visit this link: http://www.mca.gov.in/MinistryV2/digitalsignaturecertificate.html

Digital India (http://digitalindia.gov.in) 

  • In mid 90s many e-Governance initiatives to provide citizen-centric services were initiated. National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) in 2006 was the big milestone in this step.
  • To change the entire ecosystem of public services through the use of information technology, the Digital India programme was launched by the Government of India with a vision to transform India into a digitally empowered society and knowledge economy.
  • A few major initiatives of Digital India which is related to education and skill development are:
  • SWAYAMhttps://swayam.gov.in
  • STARTUP INDIA PORTAL AND MOBILE APPhttp://www.startupindia.gov.in/



Startup India (https://www.startupindia.gov.in/)

  • Startup India is a flagship initiative of the Government of India, intended to build a strong ecosystem for nurturing innovation and Startups in the country that will drive sustainable economic growth and generate large scale employment opportunities.
  • The Government through this initiative aims to empower Startups to grow through innovation and design.
  • Startup India initiatives is based on following pillars:

1.Simplification and Handholding

2.Funding Support and Incentives

3.Industry-Academia Partnership and Incubation

  • Under this initiative an startup has been defined as an entity that is headquartered in India, which was opened less than seven years ago, and has an annual turnover less than 25 crore.
  • To support this initiative Pradhan Mantri Mudra Yojana (PMMY) was also launched, which aims to provide micro-finance, low-interest rate loans to entrepreneurs from low socioeconomic backgrounds.
  • MUDRA has created three products namely Shishu (covering loans up to Rs. 50,000), Kishore (covering loans above Rs. 50,000 and up to Rs. 5,00,000) and Tarun (covering loans above Rs. 5,00,000 and up to Rs. 10,00,000) to signify the stage of growth/development and funding needs of the beneficiary micro unit/entrepreneur and also provide a reference point for the next phase of graduation/growth.
  • All Non-Corporate Small Business Segment (NCSBS) comprising of proprietorship or partnership firms running as small manufacturing units, service sector units, shopkeepers, fruits/vegetable vendors, truck operators, food-service units, repair shops, machine operators, small industries, food processors and others in rural and urban areas, are eligible for assistance under Mudra.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!